FOI, Privacy Notice, Complaints & Charging Policy - Harris Academy Purley
Close

Download our FREE smartphone app today!

Get the app

Twitter

19/07/18

Students also enjoyed a trip to Greenwich University https://t.co/fNorveKqx9

19/07/18

Students enjoyed a trip to Brighton yesterday! https://t.co/4mLabm5IWc

19/07/18

Key Stage 3 Science pupils were challenged to design a smartphone app that would transform how health services are delivered and how medical staff communicate with patients. Here are some of our winners! https://t.co/ZVnjToh62u

16/07/18

Students visited the Sky Academy Skills Studio on Friday. You can watch what they got up to here: https://t.co/MjyJlElPve

12/07/18

Purley athletes enjoyed several podium finishes at this year's Sports Day! https://t.co/RvW6lpVvB8

10/07/18

Federation Sports Day is on Thursday, then we have an Own Clothes Day on Friday. Read more about them in our Letters Home: https://t.co/KVldmVB3bJ

09/07/18

You'll be home by 7...

09/07/18

Our students are looking forward to performing in our FREE production of Oliver on Wednesday afternoon! Please come along and show your support! https://t.co/VYSYEILjGr

09/07/18

Retweetd From Mula Cake

Thank you to for having us down at your careers day today 🙌🏾🙌🏾 we really enjoyed it 🥇🥇 well done to all the kids that attended https://t.co/MWwgqBLMI2

06/07/18

Miss Homewood and her students are pleased to send a cheque to the Adoption For Pets charity, using the money they have raised from selling their bath bombs, lip balm and bath salts made in science lessons! https://t.co/XhE9r5jSyo

05/07/18

It was perfect weather for our Year 11 prom last night! As you can see, the students looked fantastic... https://t.co/aj2khizsRx

03/07/18

Collecting your GCSE results next month? Here's what you need to know: https://t.co/QpcXM2TQ3e

02/07/18

Retweetd From LPESSN

Super sunny day for our Festival of sport today! 😎 ☀️ The children had a lot of fun rotating around the sporting activities. ⚽️🎾🏑⛳️A big thank you for our sports leaders today from and ! https://t.co/erbyGiE1bT

02/07/18

Students have been enjoying a coding workshop from TFL this afternoon! https://t.co/L3o1mtIFMk

01/07/18

Bronze DofE completed! https://t.co/Eg81OHL5o6

30/06/18

A fantastic evening around the campfire! https://t.co/iBxjmfXUcN

30/06/18

Our Bronze DofE students have made it to High Ashurst and set up camp! https://t.co/9KlGnpMDAR

27/06/18

Our Year 9 and Year 10 students will be taking part in the Athletics Competition this afternoon. The event should be finished by 16:00. Photos from yesterday's Year 7 and 8 competition: https://t.co/wPGdqN9YYB

25/06/18

Minutes from the Parent Voice meeting in June are now on our website. The next meeting will be on Tuesday 3rd July 2018 from 18:30 https://t.co/CkvdfYH7i1

Harris Academies
All Academies in our Federation aim to transform the lives of the students they serve by bringing about rapid improvement in examination results, personal development and aspiration.

Central Office

Bexley

Bromley

Croydon

Greenwich

Haringey

Merton

Newham

Southwark

Sutton

Thurrock

Wandsworth

Westminster

FOI, Privacy Notice, Complaints & Charging Policy

Charging

Our full charging and remissions policy can be found further down the page, in summary;

Harris Academy Purley provides a free education for boys and girls of all abilities. However, the Governors of the Academy reserve the right to charge in the following circumstances:

  • Where a parent wishes a child to learn a musical instrument.
  • When a request is made for accreditation in a subject that is not a normal part of the student’s Academy programme; when a request is made for a different form of accreditation to that advised by the Academy; when a student is entered for an examination but fails to sit it, unless the reason is acceptable to the Executive Principal and Chairman of Governors;
  • Where a trip is proposed which is not a compulsory part of the curriculum, parents will be invited to make a contribution to cover the costs involved. This will be on the understanding that if there is insufficient support the proposed trip will not take place.
  • Cost of ingredients or materials for practical subjects, where parents have indicated in advance, a wish to own the finished product.

Parents can request paper copies of any information provided on the website free of charge. Please contact the school for this to be arranged.

 

Complaints

Our full complaints policy can be found further down the page, in summary;

If you are unhappy or have concerns about the academy or a person associated with the academy then you may wish to make a complaint, in the first instance complaints should be addressed to the Head of Academy Mr Andrew Barr at the Academy or alternatively contact via email here

 

Privacy Notice

Under data protection law, individuals have a right to be informed about how the Federation and its Academies use any personal data about its students.  We, the Harris Federation, comply with this right by providing Privacy Notices to parents/carers and students, as appropriate, where we are processing their personal data.

Harris Federation is the Data Controller for the purposes of data protection law and therefore will determine the purposes for which personal data is processed (the ‘why’ and the ‘how’).  Your Academy and authorised 3rd parties, e.g. ParentPay, process and ‘use’ data on behalf of the Federation and are therefore Data Processors.

We collect and use personal data about the students who attend our Academies, in order to provide an outstanding education.  This personal data includes identifiers such as name, address and contact details of parents/carers, characteristics such as ethnic group, nationality and language, attendance information, test results, medical conditions, and special educational needs information.

This data is used for a variety of reasons, including:

  • Support student learning.
  • Protect student welfare.
  • Monitor and report on student progress.
  • Contact students and parent/carers when we need to.
  • Provide appropriate pastoral care.
  • Assess the quality of the services we provide.
  • Administer admissions waiting lists.

The Federation and its Academies will ensure that all personal data is processed fairly and lawfully, is accurate, is kept secure and is retained for no longer than is necessary.  We do not share personal information about our students with any third party without consent, unless the law and our policies allow us to do so.  For example we are required to pass on some data to the Department of Education (DfE).

See our Privacy notices below to learn how we collect, use, protect and share the personal information about our students.

If you have any question, concerns or would like more information about anything mentioned the Privacy Notice(s), please contact the Federation’s Data Protection Officer (DPO), details below:

Data Protection Officer                                                                                                                                                                Harris Federation                                                                                                                                                                      4th Floor Norfolk House                                                                                                                                                    Wellesley Road, Croydon                                                                                                                                                              CR0 1LH                                                                                                                                                                              Email: dpo@harrisfederation.org.uk                                                                                                                                            Tel: 0208 253 7777

 

Freedom of Information

The Freedom of Information Act 2000 gives the public right of access to information produced in the course of the Federation’s work. 

There are exemptions to this right. In particular, data about living, identifiable people ('personal data') continues to be covered by the Data Protection Act and is not generally publicly available except to the "subject" of the data - that is, the person whom the data is about.

Under the Freedom of Information Act, the Harris Federation of South London Schools has developed a Publication Scheme which lists all the documents which the Federation will make public as a matter of routine.

If the information you are looking for is not available on our Publication Scheme which can be found further down the page, you can make a request for the information you require in writing, please make sure you read our charging policy for information about cost you may be liable for.

Yours sincerely

Sir Dan Moynihan
Chief Executive Officer

 

Funding

The Academy is part of the Harris Federation for which the Funding Agreement may be seen here. The Academies own Supplementary Agreement can be found below.

 

All the policies below have been signed by the Chairman of Governors.