Twitter

18/08/22

Congratulations to all of our Sixth Form students collecting results today! You've been an amazing year group 🏆🧾 https://t.co/s8dchIGE45

18/07/22

https://t.co/ckS3E8bLsc Our summer newsletter is out! https://t.co/5WGK6bacra

18/07/22

We will close the Academy at 13:00 on Monday and Tuesday. This is to avoid staff and students travelling home during the hottest part of the day (forecast to be between 14:00-17:00). Please check our website for updates.

15/07/22

An extreme weather warning has been issued for next week. Please read our announcement for precautions and guidance: https://t.co/fuiBN0g564 https://t.co/1LzX8m3zwZ

13/07/22

Wearing blazers to school is optional for the rest of this term. No other aspect of the uniform policy has changed.

13/07/22

Due to the hot weather, we are relaxing our policy on wearing blazers to school. Please see the announcement on our website for details.

08/07/22

Academy Sports Day is well underway. On top of our usual athletics events, we have football, basketball, table tennis and benchball going on! https://t.co/rEqjRuvXDF

08/07/22

Unparalleled athleticism on display at Sports Day. He's unstoppable! (as an official) https://t.co/42iFq8Cbn6

07/07/22

On Tuesday evening we said farewell to our wonderful Year 11s with a beautiful prom at Farleigh Golf Course. It was a fantastic night and the students looked amazing. 📸https://t.co/P4AhKTqwBs https://t.co/8AgsXhGiAA

01/07/22

This looks great 👍

28/06/22

We achieved an impressive 56 medals and 1 gold trophy at Federation Sports Day. Our boys finished 3rd overall and our girls finished 2nd! A fantasic achievement. Great to see students supporting one another. Y10B=5th Y10G=5th Y9B-TBC Y9G=2nd Y8B=3rd Y8G=2nd Y7B=4th Y7G=1st https://t.co/CtLQubq44F

17/06/22

There are planned rail, tram & underground strikes on Tue 21st, Thur 23rd and Sat 25th June. Croydon Tramlink drivers will walk out on 28-29th June & 13-14th July. Disruption expected to last several days. Please keep this in mind for your commutes! 🚜🚁 Details from TfL to come

13/06/22

Our end of year exhibition for art, textiles and photography is taking place this evening until 18:00. Parents and carers are welcome. https://t.co/wrCi69sOWc

26/05/22

Today was World Day at HAPU! We celebrated with cultural activities including language lessons, world cuisine tasting and even dance classes! Many attended school in cultural dress. Thank you to the students who helped organise the day and to staff who ran sessions! https://t.co/1vUhHJM3SH

23/05/22

On Saturday Ethan competed for in the 4x100m relay at the Alexander Stadium, Birmingham. He ran the 4th leg and received the baton in second place and did what Ethan does best - WIN! He finished nearly a second ahead and helped set a season best of 43:03 🥇 https://t.co/qhmQPmIEQm

17/05/22

On Monday evening, the Academy hosted the regional finals of the Jack Petchey "Speak Out" Challenge! Talented students from across the borough spoke about topics important to them. Chidi delivered a talk entitled, 'A man thought he could be.' View it here: https://t.co/f0RLHOHO8y

17/05/22

On Monday three Y7s competed in this term's South Quadrant Cook Off at HASN! The students had 1 hour to produce a three-course meal with the theme 'The Queen's Jubilee'. Merton were *crowned* the winners, but as you can see the dishes looked (and tasted) amazing! https://t.co/QiYQl0rFi5

10/05/22

TfL have announced bus strikes in south London on May 11th, 16th and 17th. Buses in Croydon, Thornton Heath, Streatham and Brixton are among those affected. Please keep these strikes in mind when planning your journey to and from school! 🚌 https://t.co/tYXF8Gt0Ca

09/05/22

After a competitive game that went into extra time, our boys managed a 5:4 win against St Joseph’s on Friday. Their next game will be the final! Good luck! ⚽️ https://t.co/KiH8tRQVB6

06/05/22

Earlier in the week, our students met with author Simon James Green, who came to talk about the process of having his novel 'Noah Can't Even' published. His novel deals with 🏳️‍🌈LGBT+ themes and Simon was overwhelmed by the way our pupils support and promote equality and diversity https://t.co/11NzYrCOPz

Harris Academies
All Academies in our Federation aim to transform the lives of the students they serve by bringing about rapid improvement in examination results, personal development and aspiration.

Central Office

Bexley

Bromley

Clapham

Croydon

Greenwich

Haringey

Havering

Merton

Newham

Southwark

Sutton

Thurrock

Wandsworth

Westminster

FOI, Privacy Notices, Complaints, Whistle-Blowing, Funding & Charging Policy

Charging

Our full charging and remissions policy can be found further down the page, in summary;

Harris Academy Purley provides a free education for boys and girls of all abilities. However, the Governors of the Academy reserve the right to charge in the following circumstances:

  • Where a parent wishes a child to learn a musical instrument.
  • When a request is made for accreditation in a subject that is not a normal part of the student’s Academy programme; when a request is made for a different form of accreditation to that advised by the Academy; when a student is entered for an examination but fails to sit it, unless the reason is acceptable to the Executive Principal and Chairman of Governors;
  • Where a trip is proposed which is not a compulsory part of the curriculum, parents will be invited to make a contribution to cover the costs involved. This will be on the understanding that if there is insufficient support the proposed trip will not take place.
  • Cost of ingredients or materials for practical subjects, where parents have indicated in advance, a wish to own the finished product.

Parents can request paper copies of any information provided on the website free of charge. Please contact the school for this to be arranged.


Making a Complaint

Our Complaints Policy can be found further down the page, in summary;

If you are unhappy or have concerns about the academy or a person associated with the academy, then you may wish to make a complaint. Please use the form at the bottom of the page to ensure your complaint is recorded and forwarded to the appropriate department.

Complaints that involve or are about the Principal should be addressed to the CEO’s Office via the Federation Head Office, 4th Floor Norfolk House, Wellesley Road, Croydon, CRO 1LH or email info@harrisfederation.org.uk. Please mark as ‘Private and Confidential’.


Privacy Notice

Under data protection law, individuals have a right to be informed about how the Federation and its Academies use any personal data about its students.  We, the Harris Federation, comply with this right by providing Privacy Notices to parents/carers and students, as appropriate, where we are processing their personal data.

Harris Federation is the Data Controller for the purposes of data protection law and therefore will determine the purposes for which personal data is processed (the ‘why’ and the ‘how’).  Your Academy and authorised 3rd parties, e.g. ParentPay, process and ‘use’ data on behalf of the Federation and are therefore Data Processors.

We collect and use personal data about the students who attend our Academies, in order to provide an outstanding education.  This personal data includes identifiers such as name, address and contact details of parents/carers, characteristics such as ethnic group, nationality and language, attendance information, test results, medical conditions, and special educational needs information.

This data is used for a variety of reasons, including:

  • Support student learning.
  • Protect student welfare.
  • Monitor and report on student progress.
  • Contact students and parent/carers when we need to.
  • Provide appropriate pastoral care.
  • Assess the quality of the services we provide.
  • Administer admissions waiting lists.

The Federation and its Academies will ensure that all personal data is processed fairly and lawfully, is accurate, is kept secure and is retained for no longer than is necessary.  We do not share personal information about our students with any third party without consent, unless the law and our policies allow us to do so.  For example we are required to pass on some data to the Department of Education (DfE).

See our Privacy notices below to learn how we collect, use, protect and share the personal information about our students.

If you have any questions, concerns or would like more information about anything mentioned the Privacy Notice(s), please contact the Federation’s Data Protection Officer (DPO), details below:

Data Protection Officer

Harris Federation

4th Floor Norfolk House

Wellesley Road, Croydon

CR0 1LH

dpo@harrisfederation.org.uk

0208 253 7777


Freedom of Information

The Freedom of Information Act 2000 gives the public right of access to information produced in the course of the Federation’s work.  

There are exemptions to this right. In particular, data about living, identifiable people ('personal data') continues to be covered by the Data Protection Act and is not generally publicly available except to the "subject" of the data - that is, the person whom the data is about.

Under the Freedom of Information Act, the Harris Federation of South London Schools has developed a Publication Scheme which lists all the documents which the Federation will make public as a matter of routine.

If the information you are looking for is not available on our Publication Scheme which can be found further down the page, you can make a request for the information you require in writing, please make sure you read our charging policy for information about cost you may be liable for.

Yours sincerely

Sir Dan Moynihan
Chief Executive Officer


Funding

The Academy is part of the Harris Federation for which the annual report, annual audited accounts, memorandum of association, articles of association and funding agreement can be found here. The Academy’s own supplementary funding agreement can be found below. 

All the policies below have been signed by the Chairman of Governors.

Complaint about the academy, member of staff or student

  • *
  • *
  • *

Back to Key Information