Today was World Day at HAPU! We celebrated with cultural activities including language lessons, world cuisine tasting and even dance classes! Many attended school in cultural dress. Thank you to the students who helped organise the day and to staff who ran sessions!


On Saturday Ethan competed for in the 4x100m relay at the Alexander Stadium, Birmingham. He ran the 4th leg and received the baton in second place and did what Ethan does best - WIN! He finished nearly a second ahead and helped set a season best of 43:03 🥇


On Monday evening, the Academy hosted the regional finals of the Jack Petchey "Speak Out" Challenge! Talented students from across the borough spoke about topics important to them. Chidi delivered a talk entitled, 'A man thought he could be.' View it here:


On Monday three Y7s competed in this term's South Quadrant Cook Off at HASN! The students had 1 hour to produce a three-course meal with the theme 'The Queen's Jubilee'. Merton were *crowned* the winners, but as you can see the dishes looked (and tasted) amazing!


TfL have announced bus strikes in south London on May 11th, 16th and 17th. Buses in Croydon, Thornton Heath, Streatham and Brixton are among those affected. Please keep these strikes in mind when planning your journey to and from school! 🚌


After a competitive game that went into extra time, our boys managed a 5:4 win against St Joseph’s on Friday. Their next game will be the final! Good luck! ⚽️


Earlier in the week, our students met with author Simon James Green, who came to talk about the process of having his novel 'Noah Can't Even' published. His novel deals with 🏳️‍🌈LGBT+ themes and Simon was overwhelmed by the way our pupils support and promote equality and diversity


PE had the pleasure of taking Y7 and Y8 teams to the Croydon Athletics Relay Championship. The Y7 girls were just beaten on the line for a podium finish. The Y8 boys competed in a final against Trinity, HCACP, Tenisons and Oasis to finish 1st and be named Croydon Champions! 🥇


It was great so see our students so engaged in rugby training yesterday. The session was led by a coach from the Matt Ratana Foundation and will get the players ready for our game against Lanfrac! 🏉


Our amazing Year 8 football team managed a 5-2 victory over Clapham in their semi final yesterday. The boys will face either Harris Academy Riverside or East Dulwich in the final! Goals courtesy of Raff, Kahlan and Judah! ⚽️


Our latest Newsletter is available from our website:


The issues in the Academy kitchen have been rectified. Hot and cold meals and snacks will be available from Tuesday 19th April.


We've cooked our dinner and pitched our tents. We're now enjoying the sunset ☺️


Our Silver Duke of Edinburgh students have set off for a weekend of walking around Ashdown Forest on their practice expedition. It's a bit chilly! 🏕️💨


Earlier in the week we posted about Gardening Club being busy planting crops before the break. We are now excited to announce has granted us £1,994 to go towards our gardening project! We're eager to share what we use this amazing sum for next term! 🚜🥕🥔


A letter regarding Year 11 Prom and intervention sessions has been published on our website:


⚽️ Our newly formed Y7 girl's football team are having a busy year. Not only have they competed in a Croydon Schools tournament AND the U13s league, they also played a Y7-8 competition against some very tough opposition and were excellent throughout. Well done girls!


A letter form the Principal has been published on our website:


Our Year 7 rugby team returned to Riddlesdown for another friendly. Previously, we had a smaller group and had to borrow players, but this time we were able to play as our own team. We came up against a Riddlesdown side that had more experience and only lost by one try 8-7 🏉


Despite this year's hot weather coming to an end 😅 Gardening Club took to the allotment for the final time this term to get their shooting potatoes in the ground. The club has planted a variety of vegetables and look forward to a September harvest 🚜🥔🥔

Harris Academies
All Academies in our Federation aim to transform the lives of the students they serve by bringing about rapid improvement in examination results, personal development and aspiration.

Central Office















Staff Email Addresses

If you are unsure who to contact, you can always send your email to our address and our reception team will forward your message to the appropriate department or member of staff.

Academy Leadership Team (ALT)

Tim Allman Principal

Michael Piper Senior Vice Principal

James Menagh Vice Principal


Assistant Principals

Helen Pengelly Head of Sixth Form

Nathalie van der Weide Head of Arts Faculty

Daniel Piggott Head of Humanities Faculty

Paul Sarson Head of Mathematics & Commerce Faculty

Jamie Palmer Head of Science & PE Faculty

Emily McKee Engagement and Events

Cassey Gaywood SENDCO (Interim DSL)

Staff email addresses

Aaron Newell
Aaruhn Shub
Ahmad Elwerdany
Alice Bell
Alphonsine Umugwaneza
Amanda Duffy
Angus Fenton
Anna Copley
Anne Esilaba
Annesha Cooper Thomas
Arron Eady
Beatriz Burgos
Cassey Gaywood
Catherine Brett
Catherine Dunn
Catherine Reekie
Charles Ealham
Chloe Dobb
Christopher Higgins
Cian McLoughlin
Cleopatrie Thompson
Conor Melody
Corolida Francis
Cynthia Frimpong
Dami Joshua
Daniel Poulton
Daniel Sleeth
Danielle McLean
Darjan Trenchfield
Denise Johnson
Dwayne Beckford
Emily McKee
Errol Martin
Esther Olar
Fiona Pommells
Gary Melody
Gifty Lamptey
Grace Thomson
Hadda Levy
Hannah Fowkes-Morley
Helen Pengelly
Hilaire Bukasa
Hilda-Jane Ababio
Howard Battersby
Hyacinth Lowe
Ian Johnson
Ilona Weller
Isabelle Williams
Jacqueline Berry
James McCabe
James McLaughlin
James Menagh
Jamie Phillips
Janice Griffiths-Daley
Jo Newell
Jordan Glynn
Josephine Smith
Judith Roberts
Julie Peers
Julie Reynolds
Karen Brown
Karen Haward
Katie McCann
Katy Smith
Kawther Allaham
Kelly Highman
Keneilia Wint
Kyle Jones
Laura Hickin
Lauren Aarons
Lauren Forsdyke
Lewis Dewfall
Leya Yakalawo
Linda Grover
Linda Stickling
Lois Peters
Lok Gurung
Louise Lancaster
Louise Resuli
Lucy Bedu-Addo
Matthew Baker
Melissa Belton
Melissa Morris
Merid Ergicho
Michael Piper
Mini Philip
Mishia Leggett
Monday Osemwengie
Nathalie van der Weide
Nordia Bowerbank-Johnson
Olivia Garner
Owen Longhurst
Paul Sarson
Rebecca Meggiolaro
Rezan Mahmud
Richardo Mullings
Rosamond Nuglo-Mensah
Rose McSweeney
Rosemary Osode
Ruth Gale
Samantha Sensesligil
Sangeetha Shanmuganathan
Shahajada Musa
Sherika Boothe
Sophie Devine
Stacey Smeltzer
Surrya Edwards
Tariro Msemburi
Teddy Djuma
Thomas McKee
Tim Allman
Travis Golbey
Warren Thomas
Yvonne Dixon